20 July . . . 6:30 a.m.

 

The bear and her cub are somewhere down in the valley, long forgotten. 

I trudged up towards Forester until about 6 p.m. last night and found, Bill.

He was sitting at the base of our assault, or tree-line, just looking up at the mountains of rock.

I decided that, I too, would sit and stare and R-E-S-T . . . made some of my newly acquired T-shirt coffee, ate, talked and thought about today’s climb. 

At the moment, I do not want to get out of the bag, but when I do get out––I’m not stopping until I hit Guitar Lake. 

–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

I don’t remember Bill, this guy I spent the night with, below Forester on the grand meadow, or plateau as I’ve always called it––it doesn’t actually have a name.  

I do remember how serious he was and how I almost felt as though I’d walked in on him in some religious moment, in some holy shrine and I was the loud guy, unawares of where I was and being inconsiderate of the moment. 

I also think that this was the first time that I’d really, truly, been struck and in the absolute moment, of where I was––this amazing shrine of rock and light.

Unlike all the other passes, which are rather obvious and can be figured out in no time, Forester, is, while in that meadow, a mystery––there’s no sitting there and saying, yup, tomorrow gonna go right up there and over. 

Forester kind of gets to slap you down––you think you’re done, you aren’t even done. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

