July 17th . . . disappointment

I woke up this morning, expecting to hit the trail on my own and leave the guys at least a day behind, but unfortunately, Manny, of all people, convinced “Skot” to move on.

That was a bummer.

Then Scott burned his hand on his stove––that’s not nice, but I did think it could slow them down.

I started up Mather Pass at about 9 a.m., good hard snow, long switch-backs. I got about 3/4 of the way up and spotted them––then the last time I saw them, I was down in the valley and they were on the pass.

I hauled ass. 

Oh yeah, not three minutes out of camp I came to my first of many stream crossings. This one I really took a dunk in. Luckily the pack kept everything pretty dry.

It was scary though––I was in some rushing water and it was pushing the pack––I was like a turtle on its back.

I let go of one of the sticks and lost it––lost it like watching a part of me, slip away.

. . . Oh yeah, the locale! If Julie Andrews were to run up to me, singing her theme song from the Sound of Music, I would not be very surprised.

(I’m up at the Bench Lake junction)

It’s a grassy hillside with a lovely lake and the brown and bare Mt. Pinchot up there to the left.

It’s about 3:30 now and hopefully I can make it up and over the pass by 7 p.m.

I am going to walk until I drop tonight––hopefully onto the next map.

In keeping with the S.O.M theme––I keep waiting for the bad guys to come marching up the hill towards me––but I think I really left them in the dust.

6:20 p.m.!!! I’m a two-pass master!!!!

About an hour or so ago, some guys gave me a couple cliff bars, a pack of Top Ramen––tonight’s dinner, beef stroganoff!!!!!

But first I have about another hour of downhill to get to . . . Twin Lakes and water for my stroganoff.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

