Day three, looking back . . .

I walked into Sunrise Camp at about 7:30 p.m. At about 4 p.m., I developed a super blister that required that I take off my boots and do the rest of the trail in my sandals.

Uphill wasn’t too bad and downhill was fine. I think I’ll hike the entire day in them, so I can toughen up this blister.

Of course, last night at 2 a.m., the bears got my food––all of it. Luckily I’d given some to Gio, earlier and they didn’t get his. I now have three bags of nuts and ten miles to Tuolomne.

in all my cotton glory

in all my cotton glory

Last night though, was so wonderful. The full moon came up from behind the mountains and bathed the camp, in light, all night.

I, of course slept too warm and Gio was freaked about the bears, so it was not too restive a night.

I just hope I can buy some decent food at Tuolomne Meadows. If not, I may end up begging people that are coming off the trails.

. . . a really nice guy, named Ed, gave me a bunch of food––Top Ramen––and then I bought a couple bucks worth. I left sunrise at 8:30 a.m, and made the many miles to Tuolmone by 2:30 p.m., in pain, but happy to be here.

I’m sort of dreading the trip to come, especially when it comes to all the bear stories I’ve been hearing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

